Baking · Cooking · Recipe

Creamy Mac and Cheese

One of my favorite foods is good old Mac and Cheese.  I’m sure many of you agree on that.  My mom used to make it the ‘real’ way by baking it in the oven but that’s too much work for lazy ol’ me.  I make it in the microwave for the most part.  I also like a sharper taste to mine so I use sharp cheddar and American cheese rather than Velveeta.  My mom’s version was always really good but mine is pretty fantastic too.  I’ve experimented from recipes I’ve seen around and from my mom’s original one. So here is my super fast and easy recipe.

Creamy Mac and Cheese 

Printable Version Here

Ingredients:

8 Oz Pasta (I use medium shells)

5 Tbs Butter

4 Tbs Flour

1 Cup Milk

1 Cup Heavy Cream

4 Oz Sharp Cheddar, shredded

4 Oz American Cheese

 

I'm pretty cheap/poor.  You could go with much higher quality stuff than I.
I’m pretty cheap/poor. You could go with much higher quality stuff than I.

 

Directions:

I always start by getting the water boiled and adding the pasta.  I like fairly soft pasta and can get most of the cheese mixture made while it cooks. After it cooks, drain and return to the pot.

Boiling pasta.  Exciting stuff!
Boiling pasta. Exciting stuff!

 

Take the butter and melt it in a microwave safe bowl.  Then whisk in the flour to make a sort of paste.

Mmmm, butter flour paste.
Mmmm, butter flour paste.

 

Slowly add the cup of milk and cup of heavy cream, whisking as you add them.

Then put the liquid mixture into the microwave for a minute at a time.  Between each minute you want to whisk it a bit more.  The idea is to end up with a thicker, creamy consistency.  I usually get it about 4 minutes in but it could take up to 6 or 7 depending on your microwave.

Creamy texture, will stick to the whisk.
Creamy texture, will stick to the whisk.

 

While the mixture is still hot you want to add in the cheese.  I usually add the cheddar first and then a few slices of American and taste.  This way you can get it as sharp tasting as you want.  If it’s too sharp, add more American.  I usually use about 5 slices of American cheese to a mid sharp flavor.

Cheesy cheese, glorious cheese!
Cheesy cheese, glorious cheese!

 

Then you just pour the cheese mixture in the pot with the pasta and stir it up.  That’s it!

Tried to get fancy.  I'm not much of a food photographer.
Tried to get fancy. I’m not much of a food photographer.

 

Now if you’re me, you’re cooking for one and this is actually quite a bit of food but never fear, it still tastes great the next day!  There are not many things I like reheated but those that I do I eat a lot and this is one of them.  It warms up great and I don’t even need to add milk to get it creamy again (but you can).  Sometimes to change it up I add some mixin’s.

Heat it in a bowl and stir in some Garlic powder.

My two favorite food groups, cheese and garlic.
My two favorite food groups, cheese and garlic.

 

Or add some bacon bits.

I lied, bacon is one of my favorites too.
I lied, bacon is one of my favorites too.

 

The ideas are endless.  Be creative and I hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

