Crafts · DIY · Fashion · Hats · Knitting · Patterns · Sweaters · Yarn

Knitting Blitz of December ’12

I mentioned before that December was a big knitting month for me.  After quite a long break I found my love of it again and ended up making 2 hats and finally finishing a light weight sweater that I had put aside.  I’m trying to save for a new camera and as such don’t have the best set up for taking pictures of myself.  Also, the camera I do have doesn’t like certain colors so some of the pictures have been edited kind of strange to try and get the color more accurate.  I’m sorry about that but here are the projects.

The first is this hat called Regina by Carina Spencer.  I love the art deco look of it and it was fairly simple but had a few techniques that I hadn’t really worked with like the i-cord.  I used the Simple Soft by Caron yarn for this.  I had a bunch of it laying around as it’s quite inexpensive at Walmart.  Not amazing yarn but it is soft and great for quick little projects.

DecoHat2

I really need to block the fan but just haven't felt like doing it.
I really need to block the fan but just haven’t felt like doing it.
The grey color is more accurate but not the teal.  Told you colors were hard for the camera.
The grey color is more accurate but not the teal. Told you colors were hard for the camera.
Yes, I'm laying down but I get the best hat pictures this way.
Yes, I’m laying down but I get the best hat pictures this way.

The second was another hat called Who? by Sara Amoroso.  I made this one not only because it was cute but it would give me some practice doing the owl cable pattern that is used in the Owls sweater.  I made this one in about a day.  For this one I used a ball of Classic Elite Woodland yarn that I had in my stash.

OwlHat1

OwlHat2

OwlHat5

Lastly I finished the Veronique shrug from the book French Girl Knits.  I received this book as a Christmas gift in 2011 and instantly fell in love with the Veronique pattern.  It’s light and airy and girly.  I used the Aloft yarn from Knit Picks since the Rowan Haze yarn used in the book was a bit more then I wanted to spend.  The Aloft is just as soft and a bit cheaper in cost.  This shrug is deceptively warm seeing as it’s so light and loose.  I’ve worn it a few times to work and haven’t worried about being cold in it.  Now my shrug does not sit the way the one in the book does.  I fear I may not have made it long enough but I’m honestly unsure about what went wrong with it.  Of course that doesn’t mean I don’t love it.  The color is lovely and it still looks good on.  I also made a bit of a stitch mistake near the right shoulder but my hair usually covers this and no one has noticed.

Shrug1

The back.
The back.
Close up of the yarn.  Very fuzzy but soft not scratchy at all.
Close up of the yarn. Very fuzzy but soft not scratchy at all.
See, doesn't swing as it should.
See, doesn’t swing as it should.
The back.  Doesn't hang as low as it should.
The back. Doesn’t hang as low as it should.

Having decided to learn to knit a year ago I never thought I would make more then a few scarves and maybe a hat or two.  Next post will be the finished Owls sweater.  I’m really happy with how it turned out.

2 thoughts on “Knitting Blitz of December ’12

Leave a Reply

