DIY · GISHWHES · Halloween · Lord of the Rings · Sewing

GISHWHES and Halloween

I’m sure many of you are wondering what the heck GISHWHES is.  It stands for The Greatest Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen and was started last year by the amazing and wacky actor Misha Collins.  It is a scavenger hunt played all over the world by people grouped into teams of 15.  There is a list of items provided and your team then creates or finds these things and takes photos or videos of said items.  I was totally nervous about doing this at first, thinking I wouldn’t be able to help my team at all and wondering if I would get along with complete strangers.  Let me tell you, it was a blast.  My team was amazing.  We got along right away and we were so organized.  The creativity and genius of these people was amazing!  I still can’t believe some of the things that were created.  I managed to submit many items and help in many other ways so my uncertainty in that area was unfounded.  The best part was making 14 new friends.  I may never meet any of them in person but we always have this hunt to connect us and I hope we can be a team again next year.

Here is a little photo montage of some of the things we accomplished if you would like to watch.

 

Now, as for Halloween, I dressed up twice this year.  This is the first year I’ve been able to have two costumes and I was in heaven.  First on the list was a Halloween party, also a first for me, and I dressed as a silent or black and white film star. I was actually black and white.

No one was around to snap a photo for me. Sorry for the low tech pictures.
Full length is worse but you can get an idea of the entire costume.
Here is a picture from the party. Gives you a better idea of the whole black and white thing.

 

The party was the weekend before Halloween so I got to also dress up for work on Halloween.  I went as Eowyn from Lord of the Rings.  I had made the costume after the third film came out and then never had a reason to wear it.  I kept forgetting to use it for Halloween’s previous to this.

Not blonde, I know but you get the idea. I also look really short in this photo, bad angle.
Here is the real costume for reference purposes.

 

So that was my past week or so.  I have had a lot of fun with both projects but it’s also nice to take it easy and maybe get back to working on some other things.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

