Crafts · DIY · Fashion · Flowers · Jewelry · Tutorial

Beads and What They Come In

A few weeks ago I decided to make some beaded earrings and I think I might actually be turning into one of those super crafty gals who turns things into others things.  I bought a bunch of beads at Walmart for $1.50 and they came in these little plastic containers with really annoying caps on them.  Now the earrings were super simple and super cute.

Just some thread and wire and of course the beads.  I pretty much used the left overs from the Whoville houses after the Grinch came through (It’s not even Christmas and I can bring up that story, I like it that much).  What really brought me into crafty status were the containers.

As you can see, basic clear plastic, tape residue and crappy top that kept wanting to come off.  I didn’t want to keep the beads in there because I knew they would fall open so I dumped them into some small plastic baggies and went to work cleaning the containers sans crappy top.

I’m sure you can see it.  That’s right, they look like little vases!  Of course I couldn’t be happy or be considered uber crafty if I just left them like that so out came the Washi tape (why does that make me think of the Itsy Bitsy Spider, out came the ‘washi tape’ and dried up all the rain).

Then began what was an amazingly simple process.  Pick a tape and wrap it around the containers.  Yup, that’s it.  Then you simply find some flowers to your liking.  I found some pretty plastic (I would kill them quickly if they were real) flowers at the store and popped them in the finished vases and Voila!

Just a cute little way to reuse something and it cost me maybe 2 dollars seeing as I already had the containers and tape and only went out and bought the flowers.  I hope you enjoyed this installment of “How Can I Add More Clutter Using The Clutter I Already Have But Making It Cute In The Process”.

Also, Happy 4th everyone!

Leave a Reply

