Crafts · DIY · Papercraft

Howl’s Moving Castle Papercraft

This post is certainly about an old topic but it deals with something new to me.  A few years ago while bumming around the internet, as I am wont to do, I stumbled upon a download for Epson’s papercraft of Howl’s Moving Castle.  Needless to say, I was thrilled.  I love this movie!  It’s one of my favorite animated films and I loved the idea of having my own little castle display.  If you have never seen this movie, go and watch it!

For those of you who don’t know papercraft is basically cutting paper and gluing it together to make things.  It’s a bit like origami in that you manipulate paper to make objects but it’s different in that you cut and glue and the paper is usually printed.  There are small items like a TARDIS from Doctor Who or Jack Sparrow’s compass and then there are large items like the Moving Castle.  I have made all three of these things and let me say, if you don’t like meticulous things or find it hard to cut small pieces then it may not be for you.  I personally love things with tiny detail.  The castle did take me quite a while to make, maybe a month in total, but I took a little time each night to cut everything out and then I glued it all together and didn’t rush myself.

This is what the castle looks like in the film:

Pretty awesome, huh?  This is what the papercraft castle looks like put together:

Not exactly the same but pretty fun and cute.  The wings move up and down when you pull on the bit under the stand.  I love the little clothes line and water bucket too!

Now as for the new thing, I found a download of the version they released in Japan.  Papercraft is quite popular over there and the film studio put out a book for the castle.  It’s different then the one I made and its a bit more involved.  I can’t wait to start working on it.

Here is what the ‘fancy’ version looks like:

Still not exactly like the film version but that’s okay by me.  I love the tongue sticking out!

If you would like to try your hand at either of these here is where you can find the downloads.  The directions are a bit so so but I made mine without and just followed the pictures.

Colorful version that I already made is here: Epson Howl’s Moving Castle Papercraft

More involved version is found here: Studio Ghibli Papercraft

You may want to start with something simple like the two I mentioned above or just Google papercraft and you can find all kinds of things.  The Disney Experience website even has a whole section devoted to it.  There are so many projects on that site that I want to make.

One last note, Howl’s Moving Castle is made by the same people who did Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, Ponyo, the newer film Arriety and many others.  See these movies if you can, you won’t regret it.

One thought on “Howl’s Moving Castle Papercraft

  1. This looks amazing.
    I’m not sure how old this post is, but I was wondering if you still have the PDFs for this, because the files at the links you provided don’t work.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

