Knitting · Me · Photography

Back Again and Knitting!

It’s been some time since I last posted anything on here and I’m deeply sorry for that.  I’ve simply been neglectful.  It began with working over time at work and just not having the energy to do anything, then I was sick a few times and then it was plain ol’ zero motivation.  I’ve had about 12 projects I want to work on and at least four project supply groups sitting in various places waiting to be started and just haven’t felt like doing any of it but that’s going to end now.  I’m back.  I may not post everyday, every other day or even more than once a week but I won’t let it get this bad again.

One thing I have been doing is knitting.  I taught myself through reading books and watching videos online a few months ago and really enjoy it.  So far I’ve only made a few hats and a scarf but I have a little cardigan that I want to try to make next.

Most of the patterns I have, I found at Ravelry.  It’s pretty well known to knitters and crocheters but it’s a great place for resources or help on things that are confusing.  I really enjoy looking around there.

The first project I finished was a bulky cowl scarf.  It is pretty basic but it was my first time using circular needles and I love using them now.

Super warm for those yucky Michigan winters.

Please excuse the photo.  My boyfriend took the picture and he doesn’t really know how to use my camera and it was quite cold out.  I hate photos of myself so I always feel the need to put in a disclaimer but that will be the only one, I promise.

Next we have a hat based off of one that Hermione is seen wearing in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1.  Hers was a gray color but I used green because I had this pretty yarn just begging to be used.  This was my first time doing the cable stitch and it was so much easier than I thought it would be.  I couldn’t believe how fast I made this hat, took me a weekend, on and off.

This is the front.
This is the top. Bit blurry but it's hard taking pictures of the top of your head.
And this is what it looks like on and being able to see my whole face.

I’m really happy with how they both turned out.  I can’t wait to start on some other knitting projects and I’m in process of making something for a loved one.  Don’t want to say too much even though I don’t think she knows this blog exists.

That’s my creative fun thus far.  As I said, I haven’t felt like making anything and not much has inspired me before these last few weeks and for that I’m sorry.  Here’s to more crafty, colorful, sparkly, fun in the new year.

2 thoughts on “Back Again and Knitting!

Leave a Reply

