Acting · Books · Game of Thrones · History · House of Leaves · Louisa May Alcott · Mom · Neil Gaiman · Nook · Photography · Stories

Challenge Day 9. Also, books.

Day 9 and the theme is Someone You Love.

I cheated a bit on this one because I didn’t take it.  That’s my mom and me as a baby.  So this photo is probably about 30 years old but I love my mom to death and she hates getting her picture taken (hmm, so that’s where I get it from) so I used this one instead.  My mom is one of my best friends and she is the one who taught me to always be myself and be happy doing the things I love and not to worry about doing or being what everyone else is.  I learned to be a good and decent person from my mom because that’s who she is.  I got my individuality from her and my love of the creative, history, and reading.  She used to read to me all the time when I was little and instilled that passion for stories.  She still gets books from the library all the time and as soon as she’s done passes them off to me.  Since she gave me this passion for books I thought I would also make this a, “Books I’m reading, want to read, have read and will read again” post.  I got the idea from this lovely blog, Callaloo Soup.

Big Pretty Books!I’m currently reading A Clash of Kings which is the second in the Song of Ice and Fire series.  This is the series that Game of Thrones is based off of and if you haven’t watched the first season, do it!  I’ve read American Gods (Neil Gaiman is my favorite author and read his stuff as soon as it comes to bookstores) but this is the Author’s preferred version which has more material and so it is asking me to read it again.  The other books in the photo are House of Leaves (have read once and it’s awesome!), The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott (waiting to be read), London: A Biography (history nerd here), and the one with nothing on the spine is actually the cover to my Nook.  It only has about 200 books on it waiting for my attention.  Did I say I liked reading?  I also listen to audio books on my work commute so I usually am reading at least two books at a time.  Reading is certainly where my love of acting came from.  I believe this as one of my first memories is reading my books out loud to my stuffed animals and doing all the voices.  I love stories in any and all forms and I have my favorite person to thank for that.

Leave a Reply

