Jewelry and Boxes but not Jewelry Boxes.

It’s been a few months now that I’ve been purchasing samples and bath products from Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab and I’ve accumulated quite a bit.  So much that I was moved to make a box to hold them in.  I had a few of those inexpensive wooden boxes that you can buy at Micheal’s or Hobby Lobby and plenty of scrapbook supplies so I went to work.  I decided on a vintage French theme because I had just bought some new stamps and wanted to try them out.

I’m still not sure I like the gap in the stamping on the lip but I did it before I had the genius idea to take off the latch.  Oh well.

The cage, the bird and the wording are all rub on stickers and let me tell you, I don’t know if it was a cheap product or if they don’t like that wood but they did not want to stick for nothing.  I was afraid that I was going to punch through the lid from scratching them so hard with the stick.

The inside is divided into groups of “I love this and want a full bottle!”, “I like it enough to wear it but a sample is enough”, “I don’t like it on but it will be great as a room fragrance” and full bottles.  I made the divider out of some poster board and washi tape.  The bottles are a bit big and have made the divider a bit lopsided.  Oh well.

This photo is just showing off the three bottles I own.  I have one more coming but I just ordered it so it will be a few weeks.  If you can’t read them they are Candy Corn Coated Candy Apple, Boo, and Sprinklecake.  I love me some foodie smells. You can probably see from the previous photo that the box is already full and I’ve decided to take one of the bigger boxes I have and use that for the sample sizes (I have an idea to keep the little bottles staying upright) and use this box for the full size bottles.  Oh the trials of a perfume oil addict!

Now this evening I decided to utilize these items.

What ever could I be making?  A necklace of course!  I had the idea for it in my head ever since I bought those charms but only just now had time to make it.  Of course I made it faster than I thought but that’s how it goes when you think on something for weeks.

I have a thing for birds and birdcages lately, if you haven’t noticed.  The closure is the black ribbon.  I like using ribbon instead of clasps because it makes me feel like I’m wearing something antique.

Up close of the cage.

Sorry for the giant shadow but this was the only place I could find to hang the necklace without something behind it and I wanted to get a closeup.

There’s that shadow again.

I will try to remember to get a picture of it on when I wear it tomorrow.  I wanted to get this written up before I went to bed so I don’t look my awesomest best for pictures right now.

There you have it.  Birds flying out of cages and boxes for smelly things and antique love everywhere.

Leave a Reply

